Lacey Award

The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award


The 2018 Loretta P. Lacey Academic Leadership Award went to Lois McCloskey, DrPH, MPH! 

Dr. McCloskey is an Associate Chair & Associate Professor in the Boston University School of Public Health Department of Community Health Sciences. She is also an Associate Professor in the Boston University School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics. Congratulations, Dr. McCloskey!


The announcement was made via email to ATMCH members on Oct. 24, 2018, on the ATMCH website & on the ATMCH Facebook page. Dr. McCloskey was formally recognized & presented with a plaque at the ATMCH Greg Alexander Speed Networking Event at APHA on Nov. 11, 2018. The celebration continued over dinner that evening at MaryJane's Diner in the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego. 


To nominate an ATMCH member for the 2019 award, submit a letter of nomination & the nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), both of which must document the nominee's accomplishments & future potential in MCH scholarship & leadership. Letters of support are not necessary and nominations are due Sep. 13, 2019. Mail, fax, or email nomination letters & CVs to the ATMCH Coordinator:


Julie McDougal, MAE - Coordinator
Association of Teachers of Maternal & Child Health (ATMCH)
1720 2nd Avenue South - Ryals 310G
Birmingham, AL 35294-0022
Phone 205-975-0531
Fax 205-934-2899


All nominees must:

  • be faculty members, actively involved in MCH education, research, and/or practice;

  • be ATMCH members;

  • be at mid-career (not yet full professors) with established reputations in MCH; and

  • demonstrate leadership skills & show potential for future career development.

All nominees for this award are scored on the evidence contained in their nominations of their active involvement in MCH work; active involvement in MCH education, research and/or practice; and demonstration of leadership in MCH through education, research, or policy development.


The ATMCH Academic Leadership Award was created in 1990 to recognize leadership in MCH education, research, policy development and/or advocacy. The 1994 recipient of the award was Loretta P. Lacey, an Associate Professor of Community Health Sciences for the University of Illinois at Chicago. Loretta had been a public health nurse since 1967, serving in various capacities from field nurse to administrator. She joined the UIC faculty in 1985 and received a golden Apple award for excellence in teaching in 1989. A Chicago native and former City of Chicago Assistant Health Commissioner, Mrs. Lacey was a board member for Taproots, a non-profit human services agency providing care for low-income women and children on the West Side. She was also a member of the Executive Council of the Illinois Public Health Association and a member of a committee of the White House Health Care Task Force. The ATMCH Academic Leadership Award was renamed the Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award, or "Lacey Award", in 1995 after the death of Loretta Lacey at the age of 49.


Award Recipients

Year First Name Last Name Institution
2018 Lois McCloskey Boston University (photos)
2017 Daniel Enquobahrie University of Washington
2016 Krista Casazza University of Alabama at Birmingham
2015 Michael Kramer Emory University (photo)
2014 Diana Romero Hunter College & CUNY School of Public Health (photo)
2013     (No award)
2012 Martha Wingate University of Alabama Birmingham
2011 Karen McDonnell George Washington University
2010 Carolyn Halpern University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (photo)
2009 Nadine Peacock University of Illinois at Chicago (photos)
2008 Michelle Issel University of Illinois at Chicago (photo)
2007 Ellen Daley University of South Florida (photo)
2006 Mary Barger Boston University (photos)
2005 Colleen Huebner University of Washington
2004 Wendy Hellerstedt University of Minnesota
2003 Karen Perrin University of South Florida
2002 Patricia O'Campo Johns Hopkins University
2001 Donna Petersen University of Alabama at Birmingham
2000 Edith Kieffer University of Michigan
1999 Eugene Declercq Boston University
1998 Trude Bennett University of North Carolina
1997 Arden Handler University of Illinois at Chicago
1996 Henry Ireys Johns Hopkins University
1995 Sylvia Guendelman University of California at Berkeley
1994 Loretta Lacey University of Illinois at Chicago
1993 Jonathan Kotch University of North Carolina
1992 Sally Horowitz Yale University
1991 Greg Alexander University of Minnesota
1990 Barbara Leonard University of Minnesota