Lacey Award

The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award


The 2016 Loretta P. Lacey Academic Leadership Award is awarded to Krista Casazza, PhD, RD, LD. Dr. Casazza is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, Division of General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine, at The University of Alabama at Birmingham. Congratulations, Dr. Casazza!


The announcement was made via email to ATMCH members on Oct. 21, 2016 and on the ATMCH website. Dr. Casazza will be presented with a plaque. 


To nominate an ATMCH member for the 2017 award, submit a letter of nomination & the nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), both of which must document the nominee's accomplishments & future potential in MCH scholarship & leadership. Letters of support are not necessary and nominations are due Sep. 15, 2017. Mail, fax, or email nomination letters & CVs to the ATMCH Coordinator:


Julie McDougal, MAE - Coordinator
Association of Teachers of Maternal & Child Health (ATMCH)
1720 2nd Avenue South - Ryals 310G
Birmingham, AL 35294-0022
Phone 205-975-0531
Fax 205-934-3347


All nominees must:

  • be faculty members in health or health-related institutions who are actively involved in MCH education, research, and/or practice;

  • be ATMCH members (join for free by clicking HERE and completing/submitting a Membership Application online);

  • be at mid-career (not yet full professors) with established reputations in MCH; and

  • demonstrate leadership skills & show potential for future career development.

The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award (previously "The ATMCH Academic Leadership Award") was created in 1990 to recognize leadership in MCH education, research, policy development and/or advocacy. It was re-named the Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award, or "Lacey Award", in 1995 after the death of Loretta Lacey, a professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago & leader in MCH education.


Award Recipients

Year First Name Last Name Institution
2016 Krista Casazza University of Alabama at Birmingham
2015 Michael Kramer Emory University (click here for photo)
2014 Diana Romero Hunter College & CUNY School of Public Health (click here for photo)
2013     (No award)
2012 Martha Wingate University of Alabama Birmingham
2011 Karen McDonnell George Washington University
2010 Carolyn Halpern University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2009 Nadine Peacock University of Illinois at Chicago (click here for photos)
2008 Michelle Issel University of Illinois at Chicago (click here for photo)
2007 Ellen Daley University of South Florida
2006 Mary Barger Boston University
2005 Colleen Huebner University of Washington
2004 Wendy Hellerstedt University of Minnesota
2003 Karen Perrin University of South Florida
2002 Patricia O'Campo Johns Hopkins University
2001 Donna Petersen University of Alabama at Birmingham
2000 Edith Kieffer University of Michigan
1999 Eugene Declercq Boston University
1998 Trude Bennett University of North Carolina
1997 Arden Handler University of Illinois at Chicago
1996 Henry Ireys Johns Hopkins University
1995 Sylvia Guendelman University of California at Berkeley
1994 Loretta Lacey University of Illinois at Chicago
1993 Jonathan Kotch University of North Carolina
1992 Sally Horowitz Yale University
1991 Greg Alexander University of Minnesota
1990 Barbara Leonard University of Minnesota