Lacey Award

The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award


ATMCH is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Loretta P. Lacey Academic Leadership Award!

Nominations are due September 15th, 2018.


The 2017 Loretta P. Lacey Academic Leadership Award was awarded to Daniel A. Enquobahrie, Phd, MPH, MD. Dr. Enquobahrie is an Associate Professor in the Department of Epidemiology; Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Health Services; and Director of the Center of Excellence in MCH Education, Science & Practice at the University of Washington. Congratulations, Dr. Enquobahrie!


The announcement (click for more information) was made via email to ATMCH members on Oct. 16, 2017 and on the ATMCH website. Dr. Enquobahrie was presented with a plaque at the ATMCH Greg Alexander Speed Networking Breakfast at APHA and celebrated over lunch on Nov. 5, 2017. 


To nominate an ATMCH member for the 2018 award, submit a letter of nomination & the nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), both of which must document the nominee's accomplishments & future potential in MCH scholarship & leadership. Letters of support are not necessary and nominations are due Sep. 15, 2018. Mail, fax, or email nomination letters & CVs to the ATMCH Coordinator:


Julie McDougal, MAE - Coordinator
Association of Teachers of Maternal & Child Health (ATMCH)
1720 2nd Avenue South - Ryals 310G
Birmingham, AL 35294-0022
Phone 205-975-0531
Fax 205-934-2899


All nominees must:

  • be faculty members in health or health-related institutions who are actively involved in MCH education, research, and/or practice;

  • be ATMCH members (join for free by clicking HERE and completing/submitting a Membership Application online);

  • be at mid-career (not yet full professors) with established reputations in MCH; and

  • demonstrate leadership skills & show potential for future career development.

The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award (previously "The ATMCH Academic Leadership Award") was created in 1990 to recognize leadership in MCH education, research, policy development and/or advocacy. It was re-named the Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award, or "Lacey Award", in 1995 after the death of Loretta Lacey, a professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago & leader in MCH education. All nominees will be scored on the evidence contained in their nominations of their active involvement in MCH work; active involvement in MCH education, research and/or practice; and demonstration of leadership in MCH through education, research, or policy development.


Award Recipients

Year First Name Last Name Institution
2017 Daniel Enquobahrie University of Washington
2016 Krista Casazza University of Alabama at Birmingham
2015 Michael Kramer Emory University (click here for photo)
2014 Diana Romero Hunter College & CUNY School of Public Health (click here for photo)
2013     (No award)
2012 Martha Wingate University of Alabama Birmingham
2011 Karen McDonnell George Washington University
2010 Carolyn Halpern University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2009 Nadine Peacock University of Illinois at Chicago (click here for photos)
2008 Michelle Issel University of Illinois at Chicago (click here for photo)
2007 Ellen Daley University of South Florida
2006 Mary Barger Boston University
2005 Colleen Huebner University of Washington
2004 Wendy Hellerstedt University of Minnesota
2003 Karen Perrin University of South Florida
2002 Patricia O'Campo Johns Hopkins University
2001 Donna Petersen University of Alabama at Birmingham
2000 Edith Kieffer University of Michigan
1999 Eugene Declercq Boston University
1998 Trude Bennett University of North Carolina
1997 Arden Handler University of Illinois at Chicago
1996 Henry Ireys Johns Hopkins University
1995 Sylvia Guendelman University of California at Berkeley
1994 Loretta Lacey University of Illinois at Chicago
1993 Jonathan Kotch University of North Carolina
1992 Sally Horowitz Yale University
1991 Greg Alexander University of Minnesota
1990 Barbara Leonard University of Minnesota