The Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award was created in 1990 to recognize leadership in MCH education, research, policy development and/or advocacy. The 1994 recipient of the award was Loretta P. Lacey, an Associate Professor of Community Health Sciences for the University of Illinois at Chicago. Loretta had been a public health nurse since 1967, serving in various capacities from field nurse to administrator. She joined the UIC faculty in 1985 and received a golden Apple award for excellence in teaching in 1989. A Chicago native and former City of Chicago Assistant Health Commissioner, Mrs. Lacey was a board member for Taproots, a non-profit human services agency providing care for low-income women and children on the West Side. She was also a member of the Executive Council of the Illinois Public Health Association and a member of a committee of the White House Health Care Task Force. The ATMCH Academic Leadership Award was renamed the Loretta P. Lacey MCH Academic Leadership Award, or “Lacey Award”, in 1995 after the death of Loretta Lacey at the age of 49.

All awardees:

  • are faculty members, actively involved in MCH education, research, and/or practice;
  • are ATMCH members;
  • are at mid-career (not yet full professors) with established reputations in MCH; and
  • demonstrate leadership skills & show potential for future career development.

They have been scored on the evidence contained in their nominations of their active involvement in MCH work; active involvement in MCH education, research and/or practice; and demonstration of leadership in MCH through education, research, or policy development.

Award Recipients

YearFirst NameLast NameInstitution
2018LoisMcCloskeyBoston University
2017DanielEnquobahrieUniversity of Washington
2016KristaCasazzaUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2015MichaelKramerEmory University
2014DianaRomeroHunter College & CUNY School of Public Health
2012MarthaWingateUniversity of Alabama Birmingham
2011KarenMcDonnellGeorge Washington University
2010CarolynHalpernUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2009NadinePeacockUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
2008MichelleIsselUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
2007EllenDaleyUniversity of South Florida
2006MaryBargerBoston University
2005ColleenHuebnerUniversity of Washington
2004WendyHellerstedtUniversity of Minnesota
2003KarenPerrinUniversity of South Florida
2002PatriciaO’CampoJohns Hopkins University
2001DonnaPetersenUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2000EdithKiefferUniversity of Michigan
1999EugeneDeclercqBoston University
1998TrudeBennettUniversity of North Carolina
1997ArdenHandlerUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
1996HenryIreysJohns Hopkins University
1995SylviaGuendelmanUniversity of California at Berkeley
1994LorettaLaceyUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
1993JonathanKotchUniversity of North Carolina
1992SallyHorowitzYale University
1991GregAlexanderUniversity of Minnesota
1990BarbaraLeonardUniversity of Minnesota